Killing My Chubber #5 (Day 15) | Partner? I Work Alone

The phrase diets don’t work has been drummed into us by book titles, advertising slogans, and other such mantras. But the truth is, you can lose weight following pretty much every diet on the bookstore shelf. The problem is that unless the diet fits your lifestyle, it’s bound to fail, and your weight will creep back on. You want a diet you can live with. If you like sandwiches for lunch, for example, you’ll have trouble sticking to a low-carb diet. If you hate counting calories and find it much easier to follow rules — like avoiding carbs — Atkins may be for you. And if you really love your olive oil, the Mediterranean diet is more appealing than a true low-fat diet. If you’re trying to lose weight, you have to exercise your options.

As soon as I read these words, I thought about the wider aspects of my war on the chubber and how people are coating me in advice the way that I used to coat a kebab in mint yoghurt. As much as I love the support and advice, the trouble is that nobody is looking at the main cause of the problem – me. This is my fault. I am fat because of me. I am unhappy because of my laziness and choices. Therefore, though it’s good to know that avoiding carbohydrates in meals after 4pm will apparently aid my dieting, I need to be avoiding carbohydrates because I want to. The only tip I need to follow right now is my own: wake the hell up, put down the crap food, and get yourself into a healthy and active routine.

The chubber will be watching from whichever corner of my appetite he currently lurks in, and he will be furious. But I don’t care. He isn’t in control. He wants the kebab I’ve written about in this post. He wants ice cream. He wants chips. He wants pizza. Hell, he’d even put up with salad if it came with some Nando’s chicken. But he can’t have it, because I said so, and I am winning this war.

So, if I was going to throw any advice into the mix it would be this: don’t take any diet advice as factual, unless it comes from a thin you that has travelled back in time to take your clothes, your boots, and your motorcycle…oh and many inches from your waistline.

Thanks for your support.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 
MOST RECENT STATS:
DAY: DATE: WEIGHT (KG) WEIGHT (LBS) WEIGHT (STONES) BODYFAT % BODY
WATER %
4 04/01/15 107 236 16.84 ? ?
6 06/01/15 106.5 234 16.77 36.8% 48.5%
10 10/01/15 105.2 232 16.56 36.6% 49.3%
12 12/01/15 106.2 234 16.74 36.4% 48.8%
15 15/01/15 104.2 229 16.4 35.2% 49.6%
KEY:
BLUE = NO CHANGE
GREEN = POSITIVE CHANGE
RED = NEGATIVE CHANGE
Note: I don’t weigh myself every day – this is to avoid the ‘watching paint dry’ feeling that nothing is getting done.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – 
Leave a Reply

